The Sriwijaya – The Oldest Surviving Dutch Hotel in Jakarta

Cavadino Hotel and Restaurant

My first stop will be Jakarta (formerly Batavia) and I am booked to stay in a hotel well suited to the purpose of this trip. In fact there is only one other place better suited and that’s all booked up.  Once I found out the history of this hotel though I simply couldn’t pass up the opportunity of making it home for a while.

If, back in 1863, you were living in Batavia and had a craving for some “bonbons and chocolate, Dutch, Havana, and Manila Cigars, fine comestibles, wine – beer, liquors, etc. etc. etc.” then chances are you would head to the “toko” of C.A.W. Cavadino located on Rijswijk and Citadelweg (now Jalan Veteran and Jalan Veteran 1).  If you felt like a full meal you would head to the upstairs restaurant Cavadino, catch the breeze and a glimpse of the flowing canal. If you felt sleepy afterwards you could get a room at the Hotel Cavadino.

By 1899 though, your cravings would have to be satisfied elsewhere. Cavadino himself fell off the grid in 1870 and no records ever surfaced as to his whereabouts. By the turn of the century the Hotel du Lion d’Or was in its place and then sometime before 1941 it changed again, this time becoming the Park Hotel.

One of the great aspects of staying in this hotel, for me, is that my mother and her family lived on Citadelweg after the war. ..no more than 100 feet from this hotel. I have spoken to her about it and even though the memories are vague she definitely remembers this hotel sitting on the corner of her street. You got to love that kind of circle of life.

In the mid 1950’s the hotel sold again becoming the Sriwijaya and for a time it was used by the Indonesian Air Force as a mess hall, presumably where the old restaurant had been. The Sriwijaya continues today with an almost unbroken record of over one and a quarter centuries as a hotel. The Cavadino “toko” is now the hotel restaurant and for four days this October it is where I will be eating my breakfast.

6 comments on “The Sriwijaya – The Oldest Surviving Dutch Hotel in Jakarta

  1. Didien says:

    Hi…it’s great to know about Sriwijaya Hotel. I’m also curious about the building and the atmosphere nowadays, do you have the pictures of that? :)

    Anyway, may I know how much should I pay to stay there?is it expensive?hehehe…

    I heard that you also have a plan to stay in bogor for some days, right? I guess you’re gonna stay in Salak Hotel, the heritage, aren’t you?

    Well, enjoy staying in Sriwijaya Hotel :)
    Thank you ;)

    • Today the hotel is still very popular and is rated as a two star hotel. They do have a website with current photos and information which you can find on Google. You are exactly right about the Salak Hotel in Bogor, such a beautiful hotel. Will only be passing through on my way to Bandung…unless of course I make an itinerary change and stay longer.

  2. Bianca says:

    Feels like I’m in a movie and I’m not even there !

  3. Carol ann von Kriegenbergh says:

    I’m jealous of you as you are making a dream journey.
    Enjoy a lot.

    Carol Ann

    PS. we did lived also in Djakarta but don’t know the street name. Shall asked to my mother.

    • If you can get me the address I will try and take some photos for you.

      • Carol ann von Kriegenbergh says:

        In Djakarta we lived at the Jl. Surabaya near the market(house with a front porch and a small canal in front of the garden), my mother don’t remenber the number. Her father was a KNIL militair (onder luitenant) killed by the japanese and burried in Ancol (Jacob Arend Pietersz). my mother’s family lived in Bandung at the Zeelandiastr. 9 (nowadays the Jl. Juzuf ….) and now it is a ladies hairdrasser (Roberto Salon?).
        My father was born in Djokjakarta, Klitren Kidul.

        Thanks in advance, I appreciate it very much.

Leave a Reply

